Google+

Will Any Other Companies Stand With Chick-Fil-A?

13

July 31, 2012 by brianlhughes

I have much respect for Dan Cathy, President of the multi-billion dollar food chain, Chick-Fil-A for his bold public stance on marriage being between a man and a woman. Over the past week, I have been watching from afar the coverage of liberal politicians’ and the mainstream media’s attacks on Chick-Fil-A.

I am pleased to see Mike HuckabeeRick SantorumBilly Graham and Sarah Palin step up to the plate and publicly support Dan Cathy and Chick-Fil-A, and for their (obviously) not-so-popular stand against the legalization of gay marriage.

But I have to say something; I’m very disappointing by the lack of support coming from Corporate America. I know that there must be more Corporate Executives out there who believe as Dan Cathy does. We’re strong in numbers, and as the Bible puts it, “And if one can overpower him who is alone, two can resist him. A cord of three strands is not quickly torn apart.” Ecclesiastes 4:12.

So where are our troops, where is the support? Where is the burden to stand for the Truth, to stand up for God and for His precepts that we are called to meditate on day and night. Are we not called to stay alert and to stand firm as men (1 Corinthians 16:13)? Are we not set free by Christ and called to stand firm so that we don’t allow ourselves to be subject to a yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1)? What slavery, you ask? The slavery to self, and to fear.

As we speak, there are hundreds (if not thousands) of good Christian and Conservative Corporate Executives and Business Owners who are not standing up for the heart of God, not standing up for the good fight, not speaking out against the lies of the enemy, with loving and prayerful actions.

This coming week, our fellow Christians and Conservatives have called on all of us to stand up for what is good and what is pure. If you are a Corporate Executive or Business Owner and you believe as Dan Cathy and so many others do, I invite you to consider publicly supporting Chick-Fil-A and the institution of marriage.

This is the time to suit up and to put on the Full Armor of God.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.14 Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, 19 and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel,20 for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.” Ephesians 6:10-20

I pray that the LORD be glorified in all of this and for the salvation of souls. I pray for our good Christian leaders, Executives, Business Owners, Pastors, Ministers, Politicians, Celebrities and Military to have the strength, wisdom and love to stand firm in the Truth, which is the righteousness of Christ Jesus.

13 thoughts on “Will Any Other Companies Stand With Chick-Fil-A?

  1. Jeremy says:

    What is “Christian” about hatred? When did Jesus ever command anyone to hate? Although I am an atheist, I appreciate all religions and the message of Jesus, however, I oppose any effort to co-opt religious messages for hatred. For these reasons, I oppose Chick-Fil-A, and I will be protesting them on Mike Huckabee’s “Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day” on August 1, 2012 by ordering a large water and making my displeasure with their hate known.

    • brianlhughes says:

      Wait a minute…an Atheist, can we talk about that instead? have you always been an Atheist?

      • Jeremy says:

        No. I was raised Southern Baptist. I became an atheist because there is no evidence for the existence of any god(s), and there is much evidence against the existence of god(s).

      • brianlhughes says:

        Thank you for answering my question Jeremy. I have to be honest with you. The existence of God in my life has been very real, as well as the existence of evil. By the grace of God I have a decade clean and sober. I should be dead or in jail. Not only do I believe in the Jewish God of the Torah, I also believe in the Messiah Jesus. I understand that it takes a lot of faith to do so but I believe it is a gift.

        All I know is 10 years ago I was hopelessly addicted to Meth and alcohol. I saw no way out, until God intervened. I got clean and sober, found the rooms of AA, worked the 12 steps and have never had the obsession or even a desire to use drugs or drink alcohol again. At around 4.5 years clean and sober, I needed more and I was reintroduced to Jesus and the Bible. I had an ignorant understanding of the Christian faith based from my Catholic upbringing. They didn’t really encourage us to read the Bible, so didn’t know much outside the traditional info.

        The LORD put an Evangelical Christian in my path who was from the Campus Crusades ministry. he showed me the Old Testament prophesies of the Messiah. I never read them before and was astonished. I began to study these prophesies and the New Testament accounts of Jesus. The prophesies were specifically Isaiah 53 and Psalm 22.

        I couldn’t believe that 500 years previous to the birth of Jesus which is knows to have occurred by many historical accounts, that these men wrote about Jesus and what He would do and what would happen to Him. It described why He did it as well.

        If you have never read Isaiah 53 and Psalm 22, I highly recommend reading them. I also researched the Jews and the history of their stance about these prophesies and Jesus. I found that they ignore them and discourage them being taught and talked about. I asked a religious Jew that is a friend of mine and he said all the Rabies avoid and discourage reading and talking about the Book of Isaiah, a major prophet of the OT and the Book of Psalms written mostly be King David.

        These facts all caused my faith in Jesus, the validity of the Bible and the accuracy of our Scriptures to grow. That is my story and I’m sticking to it, lol.

      • brianlhughes says:

        Jeremy, please watch this video.

  2. Annette Rf says:

    Homosexuality is unnatural, dangerous and related to the mental disorder known as disassociative disorder. I don’t see why religion must be brought into it.

    • brianlhughes says:

      I see what you are saying. The fact that it is biologically unnatural should be enough in this debate of policy. The reason religion is brought into it, is because it is a religious issue as well.

  3. Christians 4 Biz stands with Chick Fil A! Two reasons 1) The CEO’s beliefs are HIS, and I happen to share them. 2) Here is my BIGGEST problem with this whole situation. Unemployment is through the roof, and the people NEED JOBS! NO PUBLIC OFFICIAL SHOULD BE FLEXING MUSCLE TO STOP LEGIT PRIVATE BUSINESS! I may not like planned parenthood, but If I am the mayor of a major city WITH RECORD UNEMPLOYMENT my personal feelings are not considered. Now I would not allow one to open near a school, that is different. Chick Fil A is a legit business and could provide jobs!

  4. Jonathan says:

    I think every executive should stand with Chick-Fil-A even if they do not agree. It’s a matter of free speech. And every CEO should be concerned that they could have their business publicly slandered in the media if they ever hold an unpopular opinion. So agree or disagree with gay marriage, every believer in freedom should be outraged at the backlash against Chick-Fil-A, and should proudly stand with them.

  5. There is no message of hate, in standing up for Christian values such as the traditional family and marriage. Neither Chick-Fil-A nor myself has any hate towards homosexuals (I have had homosexual friends). They are not treated any different, nor are they excluded. I think more business and people should come behind Chick-Fil-A and our freedom of speech. It is ridiculous that people like Rahm Emanuel are now trying to get this business banned, for the personal beliefs of their president. Shame on people like that. Chick-Fil-A is an amazing company, and I am honored to support them, today and everyday!! I had lunch there today, and will be going again tomorrow 🙂

  6. JulesV29 says:

    LOL–isn’t it amazing that Liberals who DEMAND tolerance from everyone else have none themselves?

Leave a Reply

