Google+

By Election or by Choice?

Leave a comment

October 6, 2012 by brianlhughes

hollywood-florida-beach-brian-hughes-blogWell folks, it’s another beautiful day in Hollywood, Florida and as I sit here in my office doing some work and spending some time with the LORD I stumbled upon a Paul Washer video on YouTube that I never saw before. I have recently been independently studying the Reformation and have many questions. Because of this, the title of the YouTube video caught my attention, “”I don’t understand Election” Paul Washer answers”. So I watched it.

I have since had a revelation after reading what someone wrote on a friends Facebook wall and this is what they wrote;

“A man is not born again because he believes in Christ, he believes in Christ because he is born again. A Man is saved by grace through faith after he has been born again by the Holy Spirit.”

Here is the revelation I had after reading that statement;

“On a practical level, what role does a baby play during childbirth…? None at all, the baby is at the mercy of the birthing process that the mother is taking it through. So on a spiritual level, what role does man play during the birthing process of becoming born again…? Again none, men are at the mercy of God electing those whom He foreknew and predestined to be saved, for the glory of His Kingdom as a sign of His loving kindness towards the world. I am so reverently humbled by this, it has brought me to tears.”

So I went to chapter 3 in the Book of John and began to read about being born again and suddenly it seemed as though the light had been turned on. For several years I would say that I understood what Jesus was telling Nicodemus but I now know that it was only an intellectual understanding. After today’s encounter with the LORD, I believe it might actually be seeping into my heart.

The specific verse that is jumping out to me is John 3:8;

The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.

I have as much much power over the wind as I do the setting of the sun, absolutely none! Thank you LORD for loving me while I was unlovable and having mercy on my soul since the laying of the foundations of the Heavens and the Earth all the way into eternity.

I think I might be getting a glimpse of what repentance means. I have a long way to go but thankfully I have the most amazing Heavenly Father who will never lead me astray or leave me.

Check out the video from Paul Washer.

 

Please leave your feedback in the comment area.

Leave a Reply

